October 09-11, 2020

American University, Washington DC

Key Dates
Marsh 20 Call for abstracts
May 31 Abstract and financial assistance deadline
June 15 Decision Notifications
June 17 Financial assistance decision notification
June 17 – July 8 Earlybird registration period
July 9 – July 31 Regular registration period
Aug 1-Sept 30 Extended registration period for observers
September 8 Hotel blocks close (book your
accomodations early!)
August 15 Draft program shared with participants
October 1 Paper and presentation link sent
October 6 Presentations due
October 8 Papers due

Abstract Submission

Submit your abstract here for SDC 2020.

Abstract Guidelines

Click here to access the abstract guidelines


Venue and Accommodation Information

Find out more information about staying in Washington DC.

Other Useful Info

Click here for info about, such as wifi access, the locations of ATMs and pharmacies, and options for lunch and coffee shops.


Full Papers

The submission of a full paper is strongly encouraged. Submit your paper by October 10. A link will be sent by October 8. Papers should be between 5,000-12,000 words, including references. No specific format or style is required.

Oral, Lightning, and Pre-Organized Sessions

Presentation guidelines will be available here, closer to the conference

Special Issues



Access the poster guidelines HERE.

Registration Pricing

Observer Earlybird Regular Late
June 17 - July 8 July 9 - Sept 30 Oct 1 - 9
Standard $350 $400 $500
Low and mid income country $275 $325 500
Student $250 $300 $500
Presenter Earlybird Regular Not Available
June 17 - July 8 July 9 - Sept 30
Standard $375 $425 x
Low and mid income country $300 $350 x
Student $275 $325 x
Poster $150 $150 x
Workshops $50 $50 50

Cancellation/Refund Policy: A registration refund fee of $100 and a workshop registration fee of $25 will be accessed for cancellations on or up to September 2nd. There will be no refunds for conference or workshop cancellations after September 2nd.

SDC Coordination Committee

Arun Agrawal, School for Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan
Bilal Butt, School for Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan
Ivan Eastin School for Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan
Meha Jain School for Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan
Maria Lemos School for Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan
Lutgarde Raskin, Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Michigan
Jesse Ribot, School of International  Service, American University
Cristy Watkins School for Environment and Sustainability, University of Michigan
Lesli Hoey, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, University of Michigan

World Development Editorial Advisory Board

Sabina Alkire, University of Oxford
Kojo Amanor, University of Ghana
Christopher B. Barrett, Cornell University
Michael Bratton, Michigan State University
Axel Dreher, Heidelberg University
Jean Dreze, Ranchi University
Christelle Dumas, Université de Fribourg
Eliana La Ferrara, Università Bocconi
Ana María Ibanez, Universidad de los Andes, Bogotá, Colombia
Pamela Jagger, University of Michigan
Stephan Klasen, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen
Melissa Leach, University of Sussex
Christian Lund, University of Copenhagen
Katharina Michaelowa, Universität Zürich
Sophie Mitra, Fordham University
Jonathan Morduch, NYU Wagner

David Mosse, University of London
Susan Parker, University of Maryland
Daniel Posner, University of California at Los Angeles
Agnes Quisumbing, IFPRI
Vijayendra Rao, World Bank
Martin Ravallion, Georgetown University
Helle Munk Ravnborg, University of Copenhagen
Mireille Razafindrakoto, Institut de Recherche pour le Développement
Karen Seto, Yale University
Sheona Shackleton, University of Cape Town
Rainer Thiele, The Kiel Institute for the World Economy
Thierry Verdier, Paris School of Economics
Jackline Wahba, University of Southampton
Leonard Wantchekon, Princeton University
Matthew S. Winters, University of Illinois

World Development Associate Editors

Anthony Bebbington, Clark University, Melbourne University
Catherine Boone, London School of Economics
Jean-Philippe Platteau, Université de Namur

Yana Rodgers, Rutgers University

Jampel Dell’Angelo, Institute for Environmental Studies (IVM), Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam